If you are 18 years of age or older, you must have a basic fishing license to fish recreational in Louisiana waters. Basic fishing season (includes all legal freshwater recreational equipment). There are age requirements for a fishing license in Louisiana and stipulations about slot limits and baggage limits. Another way to purchase a fishing license in the state of Louisiana is to obtain it in person at the offices of the LDWF (Baton Rouge, Alexandria, Lake Charles, Monroe and Opelousas) and at local stores.
Offshore fishing in the Gulf of Mexico is best for catching groupers and snappers, but you have to learn the proper technique of catching and releasing these deep-sea fish so as not to harm them. When fishing in Louisiana, it should be understood that state laws have designated a “saltwater line” in southern Louisiana. The license you purchase, depending on the type and validity, will give you access to the beautiful and vibrant Louisiana fishing site. Now that you know all the ins and outs of getting your fishing license in Louisiana, it's time to grab your gear and get out on the water.
But before fishing for largemouth bass in the Red River in Shreveport or fishing for sea trout in Bayou Segnette State Park, you need to obtain a fishing license from the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. There are fishing regulations and laws established by the state for the protection and conservation of its waterways and fish populations. For more information, visit the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries resources on fishing regulations by following this link. If you are fishing south of this line, you must ALSO HAVE a saltwater license in addition to your basic fishing license.
If you are fishing south of the saltwater line in search of saltwater species, you must also have a saltwater license in addition to your basic fishing license. Anyone fishing with a “student license” must carry a valid student identification card that indicates their current full-time status while hunting or fishing. The state of Louisiana has established different daily catch limits for each species and these limits depend on the fishing season. With this guarantee, you can fish in Louisiana waters without having to carry the applicable license or certification card with you.
If you purchase a non-resident fishing license for one or three days, your fishing license will expire on the day of purchase or 72 hours later (depending on the type). If you're looking to fish with a professional fishing guide or charter captain, visit us and start your search.